Our Archive

Ar Tasglann

The Centre contains a large archive of geneaological material relating to the Ross of Mull. This is of interest to people worldwide, some of whom are the descendants of families who emigrated to the USA, Canada, and Australia in the 18th century due to hardship and 'the clearances'. In 1846 potato blight caused the failure of the crop which was a mainstay of the diet and which continued for 10 years. Simultaneously villages were being 'cleared' of crofters and their families by landlords who sought to improve the profitability of their estates with large sheep farms. People were encouraged to emigrate which resulted in the extensive depopulation of the Ross of Mull, with the many ruined abandoned townships scatted across the landscape today an evocative reminder of a dark period of history. The archive is also popular with people with more recent family connections , whether still resident in the area or as a returning visitor. Anyone interested in history and the natural environment cannot fail to be drawn in to find out more about the many fascinating layers which the Ross of Mull offers.

Research resources

Among the resources available within the centre are:

  •  Census Records 1841-1901 for Ross of Mull and Iona
  •  OPR's1803-1854 for parishes of Kilfinichen and Kilvickeon
  •  Selected valuation rolls for Ross of Mull and Iona 1858-1929
  • Selected Electoral Registers 1910-1965 for Ross of Mull and Iona
  • Passenger lists of Intending Emigrants to Australia and Canada
  • Selected death records and Graveyard transcriptions
  • Documents, maps, photographs and a library of books

In the Centre there are various booklets detailing the history of individuals or families. These booklets are a valuable resource and the Centre is grateful to the individuals who took the time to research them.

The Ross of Mull is an extraordinary microcosm of all that draws visitors to the Hebridean Islands. The scenery, as you travel along the single-track road from the ferry at Craignure is breath-taking. You experience in the many walks in the area a true sense of wilderness; the secret bays with their beaches of silvery sand, the abundance of wildlife and the innumerable marks on the landscape of the lives of past generations and communities long gone. The Ross of Mull is a compelling place for anyone fascinated by history and the ancient way of life of the Gaelic people.

Contact Us

Tigh na Rois Visitor Centre
Millbrae Cottage
Bunessan
Isle of Mull
Argyll PA67 6DG

By Phone: 01681 700659

Opening Times

April - October
Mon to Fri : 10:00 - 16:00

November - March
By Arrangement only.

© Ross of Mull Historical Centre 2018.

Designed & Hosted By Clearbox Designs